The Organ

The A. G. Casparini organ at the Holy Ghost Church in Vilnius is probably his only so well-preserved instrument of this size. The fact that it survived to the present day is a gift of fate.

Vilnius at the 1st half of the XVIII century has been devastated by two large fires. Most of Vilnius churches have burned in these fires together with their organs. Among the lost organs were the almost new, large and sumptuous pipe organ of Saint Johns Church built by a Benedictine monk Jozef Olszynsky, the pipe organ at St. Kazimir‘s Church, the pipe organ at St. Catharine’s Church and the pipe organ at the Holy Ghost Church built by G. A. Zelle. The last pipe organ was considered the best in Vilnius at the time.

Rebuilt after the fires, Vilnius obtained the present characteristic baroque image. The Holy Ghost Church was rebuilt in 1770. It became one of the most beautiful baroque churches in the Lithuanian capital. At that time, the church had a positive and a cappella for special occasions.

At the beginning of 1774, the prior of the Dominican monastery went to Konigsberg to make a contract with A. G. Casparini. The contract was made on January 19, 1774, and A. G. Casparini was paid an advance of 350 gold coins.

In 1775, building of the organ choir commenced at the Holy Ghost Church. In the same year, the frame of the organ with a prospect was built by Johann Holz of Vilnius, and the eight sculptures were carved by Anton Grosman. The organ prospect was painted and gilded much later – only around 1787.

The organ was finished in the Spring of 1776. The prospect has been carved with the date 20 Martii – 20 March.

Disposition of organ at the Holy Ghost Church in Vilnius:


(C – c³)


BORDUN á 16.



Flaut Travers á 4.

Octava principal à 4.

Qvinta á 3

Super Octava á 2.

Flasch Flöt. á 2.

Tertia á 1 3/5

Mixtura. á 5 Choris.

Trompet [8]

Pozytyff Claviatura Secunda


Principal. [4]

IULA. á 8.

Principal Amalel á 8.

Unda Maris á 8.

Flaut Major. á 8.

Spiel Flöt á 4.

Flaut Minor. á 4.

Octava á 2.

Wald Flöt. á 2.

Mixtura. á 4 Choris.

Vox Humana. á 8.



(C – c¹)

Principal Bass á 16.

Violon Bass á 6 [sic!].

Octava Bass. á 8.

Flaut & Quint Bass á 8

Full Bass. á 12.

Super Octava Bass. á 4.

Posaun Bass. á 16.

Trompet Bass. á 8.



Vox companorum


Ventil ad Clavituram Primam

Ventil ad Clavituram secundam

Ventil Pedall


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *